Bored?

A friend of mine asked if I get bored being a parent, and the answer is honestly, no. This was a fear of mine that I would be bored because, let’s face it, who hasn’t babysat for some kids and sort of dreaded the hours of just trying to think of somethings to entertain the kidd0’s. I’ve never been a good babysitter. I didn’t do it very often. I get bored. I hate having to entertain kids for hours. Don’t get me wrong though. I l-o-v-e to play. I could play for days, but I’m not into entertaining. There’s a difference. A big one. I was nervous that parents are placed in that arena of constantly trying to entertain their kids. I didn’t want that. I want to play with Ev. I want her to be imaginative. I want her to be able to entertain herself. I want her to not have to look to Josh or I as a sort of Marx brothers duo, constantly giving her slapstick humor to bide the time away.

But it hasn’t been like that. At least yet. She is only (almost) 7 months. How much entertainment does an infant require? Very little. She is playful however. And joyful. And becoming increasingly more demanding of our faces being somewhere near her so she can double check and say “good, those fools are within my grasp. can’t let em get to far away.”. But never, ever has this whole parenting endeavor been boring.

It has been: tiring (yadda yadda yadda – singing the same song all over the world), surprising, frustrating, confusing, doubting, and a plethora of other “ings”. But it has never been boring. In a good way and in a bad way. And in these moments when I put her down for her mid morning nap, I let these thoughts out, because a friend asked if I got bored. And to her, and to others, no. Parenting is never boring. Babysitting still, will always be.

 

One thought on “Bored?

  1. I agree with everything you’ve said…except one addendum. “Babysitting still, will always be {boring} (Unless you are the grandparent and the child being babysat is your granddaughter)”

    Great post Abs.

Leave a Reply

