solar stir

According to the Chinese their are 24 solar terms in a year. I don’t know exactly what that means but it has something to do with longitudes and degrees and earth-sun distance and pentads (whatever those are). But I’m no scientist or even a burgeoning bottle stopper looking for a little action so these things don’t interest me. What interests me is the myth behind each solar term.

Right now we are in Jingzhe, which is the awakening of hibernating insects. This term is usually announced with thunderstorms, which are known to wake the little buggies out of their beds.

Last week there was a big thunderstorm and I was home alone. I acted cool until the windows started to shake, and God sounded like he was clapping his hands right on top of my house at the tricks lightening was pulling for him. My heart turned yellow and I felt like an anthropod being frightened into a state of total consciousness.

I’m so glad it’s spring.

Leave a Reply

